Knitting Olympics Roundup

Inspired by the clever Yarn Harlot, I set a goal of knitting my first-ever socks (Seaweed Socks, from the local-but-I’ve-never-met-her Wendy Knits) during the Vancouver games.  I was handicapped by two knit-free days (Shabbat) and, it being my first pair of socks, I just didn’t know how long it would take to knit them.

Sadly, they are not yet done, with more inches to go on each.  And if I were a better person, I would just rip them out and start over.  Mistakes abound throughout these socks.  But they are for my mom, and she will love them no matter what (I hope), so I am keeping them as is.

I learned some interesting things in this process:

  1. Knitting on the metro is a great conversation starter.
  2. I can knit standing up on the metro.
  3. I am calmer when I knit on the escalator than when I find the escalator a waste of my time (and consequently walk up it).
  4. Knitting while walking is a great way to ignore blisters.
  5. Knitting while walking isn’t terribly difficult.
  6. Knitting while walking when it is cold out is terribly difficult.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

