And on I ramble

I haven’t blogged in a while, and honestly I don’t have anything of any interest to say.  And you know that’s saying something, since I seem to believe that it is of interest to blog about the toilet paper in the restroom at work.  Oh, I haven’t blogged about that yet? I’ll get around to it one of these days.

Yesterday I finished the knitting on a second adorable baby kimono and weaved in the ends, but didn’t have the patience for the 10 inches of mattress stitch required to actually finish it, so I set it aside.  All of my friends’ babies are due in September, so I have some time.  (All of my friends. Remember that blizzard? It’s not just that the friends who are pregnant are due in September. It’s that all of my friends are pregnant.)

Instead of finishing the baby kimono, and instead of working on my what-was-I-thinking light fingering weight top, I started a winter project.  I figure that I’ve got air conditioning, so why not.  And this way, it will be done (maybe?) by the time the weather is appropriate to wear it.  Unlike the skirt I made last winter that I got to wear twice.

And wow, what a difference it is to knit with wool after knitting with nothing but cotton (baby kimono), linen-cotton (my tank top), and silk/sea cell (what-was-I-thinking).  The silk is fine to knit with, but wow, the wool.  It’s so…easy! Plus, one row of DK weight makes a lot more progress than one row of light fingering weight, even when they both are gazillion stitches in the round.

I know I’ll feel differently in 3 rows when the time comes to double my 236 stitches and knit 5 rows of 472 stitches.  Those will be s-l-o-w.

Anyway, that is all. Wool = good.

This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

