Sewing Sunday: The overly ambitious quilt

Welcome to my first themed post, Sewing Sundays.

I’ve mentioned before that I got it into my divorced-from-reality head that I could make a twin-sized quilt for my teenaged foster daughter in a single month.

Keep in mind that the only quilt I’ve made before this was a baby-sized quilt.  And I work full-time.  And this was not the only handmade project I intended to complete in the 25 days between meeting my foster daughter and Christmas.*  And we both had to eat.

Luckily I did get a little bit of a reprieve in terms of timing; my foster daughter went to visit relatives for her entire winter break from high school, and I got an extra week to sew.  The quilt still didn’t get finished in time.  (Anyone surprised? Yeah, me neither.)

Nevertheless, here I am, blogging about it.

Some time ago**, I wrote about my burgeoning interest in quilting, inspired by Georgia at Stitchlings (who also has inspired me to try my hand at embroidery, though the trying hasn’t happened yet), among many others.  (Want to know how to get yourself linked in one my posts? Apparently the answer is to have one of your posts show up in my Google reader while drafting.)

So it only made sense to make a quilt for the 17 year old, newly entered into my life, who quite possibly has never had anything handmade for her.  She was intrigued by the afghans crocheted by my mom and said she would like one that was white, black, and turquoise.  I took that request plus her telling me that her favorite color is sapphire as the color inspiration for the quilt.  I chose six turquoise-to-dark-blue fabrics that sort of go together for the top, and two different blacks for the back.  I wanted to make a pieced back, so I cut three 6 1/2″ square blocks from each of the blue fabrics and paired them with squares of one of the blacks to make a substantial band that goes the entire width of the quilt.  There are 18 blue squares because 18 signifies “life” in Judaism.

(picture from phone)

For the front, since I knew I had limited time, I opted for blocks that are a full square foot, each made of three 4 by 12 inch strips.  Rather than alternate the direction of each block, I chose to make strips 6 blocks wide with each block going in the same direction.  There’s no way I can explain this in a coherent (and brief) manner.  Here’s the picture so you can see for yourself:

The black border is because, well, I kind of bought the fabric without thinking about how much I was going to need.  (See yesterday’s “I’m a blurt it out kind of girl.” Me and planning? Like oil and water.)  However, on the upside, I have three extra quilt blocks, so those will be made into pillows to match the quilt.

Lots of rambling here in this post, but I’m not done quite yet.  I intend for each post that talks about a specific project to include a common set of information:

  • Credit where credit is due
  • Photos
  • A pattern or tutorial or basic how-to steps (where possible)
  • Ideas for using the project for a good cause.

In this case, I’ve included some of this information above.  There are probably a skillion (oh come on wordpress, don’t try to tell me that “skillion” isn’t a word… sigh) ways you can make someone’s life better with a handmade quilt.  Some (maybe half a skillion?) will overlap with things you can do with other crafts.  So today, for my first recommendation, I will go the lazy route and recommend donating/offering a quilt as an auction item for whatever organization you support that is having an auction.  Just please don’t support any organization I find objectionable.

 

*For those who are following along and saying “didn’t she imply just yesterday that she’s Jewish” and are at this moment confused: I don’t celebrate Christmas but my foster daughter does.

**Uh yeah, that list of projects in progress, etc etc? Don’t look too closely.

This entry was posted in Sewing Sunday. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sewing Sunday: The overly ambitious quilt

  1. Sophanne says:

    Divorced from reality head…

    Me and planning? Like oil and water…

    With great lines like that, who needs clever comments!

    You make-a-me laugh (which is not easy considering I have to go back to work tomorrow after having ten days off!)

  2. Pingback: A Case of the Shoulds | RebKnitz

Leave a Reply

