Tchotchke Tuesday: the binder clip

This needs to be said.

Binder clips? Best office supply ever.  You can use them to clip together things that are already stapled or are too thick to staple or that have paper clips on them.  You can use them in the kitchen to clip closed open bags of chips or lettuce.  You can use them to play with at your desk. (What, you don’t do this?)

And you can use them… wait for it… as shawl closures.

Now, I wouldn’t use a binder clip on a handknit shawl.  But I have a bunch of those cheap, made-in-China rectangular shawls, and I’m completely incapable of wearing them. I keep one of them at my desk in my frigid office, though.  One of my coworkers is wearing one today with a gorgeous pin clasping it closed.  I asked her how she did it, and it looked pretty easy.  I don’t have a gorgeous pin at my desk, though, so I grabbed a binder clip from my desk drawer and voila, warm(er) arms.  And a reason to make myself some pins.*

 

*You were wondering where the craft-related content was? This is it.  I’ll share the pin-making experiences after I make some.

This entry was posted in Tchotchke Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tchotchke Tuesday: the binder clip

  1. Nancy Craig says:

    I am wondering if you are going to use binder clips in making gorgeous pins? I just use the clip. Will be looking forward to the fashionable pins.

Leave a Reply

