Wednesday Woolens: Continental knitting

I am a thrower. Always have been, would rather not be.

But I’ve never been willing to make the time to practice picking. When I knit, I want to Make. Something. Swatch? Fine for gauge, but I make them as small as I reasonably can.

So taking the time to (gasp) practice! something really messes with my long list of things to knit. At the same time, though, I realize that if I would just take the time to practice knitting Continental, I just might be able to knit everything else faster.

You know what? My I dreamed a dream hat is perfect for practice. I have a skillion skeins of the yarn and I’m clearly not using them for the project they were purchased for. I’d love, eventually, to set up an Etsy shop, and these hats (and matching cowls!) are quick and easy.

If you look closely, you can see where I switched from throwing to picking.

My assessment so far? 1. I need to find a better way to hold the yarn. It is, shall we say, NOT too loose the way I have been holding it. Figuring out how to hold the yarn has been my main barrier to Continental knitting every since I learned how to knit in middle school. 2. Continental knitting is much gentler on my fingers. I haven’t poked any holes in my fingers while knitting this hat since switching to Continental.

This entry was posted in Wednesday Woolens. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wednesday Woolens: Continental knitting

  1. Did you ever crochet? I hold my yarn crochet style if I knit contintental, but that’s not often.

    • rebkatz says:

      I can crochet only in circles, and I have the same problem with tension when I do that! In other words, this would be a very helpful tip if it weren’t for the fact that, well, it doesn’t help. (In my case.) (I even thought about mentioning that I have the same problem in the rare instances when I attempt to crochet. But I didn’t. Obviously.)

      Thanks for your comments! I appreciate your feedback 🙂

  2. Oh, continental is so good! I only just learned last year, but the rate at which your knitting speeds up once you learn it is incredible. It’s all in the pinky!

  3. Nancy Craig says:

    I knit continental-purl English. Makes ribbing a pain in the tush. So I do a lot of in-the-round which turns out to be stockinette. I am trying to learn English! so I can do ribbing quickly. Have tried for years to get good tension doing C. purl. It is easier to learn E.!!! I wish you luck. Oh, I just spent all afternoon in a big box craft store. Only bought a book on baby knits. But loved every minute of just ambling and dreaming.

Leave a Reply

