Day 1: Knitting and Crochet Blog Week

Day One: 28th March. A Tale of Two Yarns.
Part of any fibre enthusiast’s hobby is an appreciation of yarn. Choose two yarns that you have either used, are in your stash or which you yearn after and capture what it is you love or loathe about them.

Tips: It is a good idea, if possible, to choose a yarn that you adore and a yarn that just didn’t work for you. You do not need to be critical of any yarn if you do not feel comfortable in doing so, but perhaps you came to realise that one yarn wasn’t suitable for a particular project, if possible you could blog about what you have come to learn about choosing the right yarn, or your love of experimenting with fibres.

Ah, yarn. I learned to knit with acrylic and made my first two big projects out of cotton, so when I came back to knitting oh-so-many years later, I didn’t really “get it” when I heard people complaining about those two fibers.

And then I knit with wool, real honest-to-goodness wool, wool from a sheep, and I understood.

Don’t get me wrong. I’ll still happily knit with acrylic even though I’ve become a total yarn snob and think “how could I possibly buy this 75% acrylic yarn?” But it’s okay. I have SO MUCH acrylic from my days of needing to knit everything but not yet knowing all the people that I can make hats and scarves for an entire elementary school without buying more.

And I’ll knit with cotton and linen and other vegetable fibers that bother other people’s hands. Which brings me to the less-favored yarn part of the prompt. First of all, there isn’t really any yarn I’ve worked with that I’ve thrown to the floor and stomped on in a fit of rage brought on by its loathesome nature. And second, I don’t want to trash talk any yarn.

I made a shell out of a cotton-linen yarn from Elann.com, but of course I don’t have that information in ravelry and I’m not at a place where I could look for the ball band. The shell involved some crossed stitches. And, well, that wasn’t so fun with plant-based yarn. I’m glad I wasn’t using it for cables. But once I got the hang of it, it wasn’t too bad. I just had to make sure that I didn’t switch back to anything with wool until I was done, or my fingers would be sorely disappointed.

In contrast, I’ve knit once (only once, so sad for me) with a merino-cashmere-nylon (MCN) blend. It was like…big white puffy clouds in a clear blue sky while lying in the grass with your best friend in the whole world. The project I used that yarn for (from the Plucky Knitter! Not only was the yarn gloriously soft, it was richly beautiful) also involved crossed stitches. Gotta say…easier with the MCN.

Mmmm, daydreaming about my yarn now.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Memes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

