Day 3: Knitting and Crochet Blog Week

Day Three: 30th March. Tidy mind, tidy stitches.

How do you keep your yarn wrangling organised? It seems like an easy to answer question at first, but in fact organisation exists on many levels. Maybe you are truly not organised at all, in which case I am personally daring you to try and photograph your stash in whatever locations you can find the individual skeins. However, if you are organised, blog about an aspect of that organisation process, whether that be a particularly neat and tidy knitting bag, a decorative display of your crochet hooks, your organised stash or your project and stash pages on Ravelry.

Tips: Many people use their blogs partly as an organisational tool – logging and cataloguing projects and newly attained skills, projects and modifications. Did you bare this in mind when you began blogging?

Organization? What’s that?

I imagine that my writing style gives you a bit of a clue as to the haphazard nature of my “organization.” I try. I really do. Or at least, I want to try. I just don’t manage to maintain things so well. I can come up with a million excuses. Or just buy more shelves.

So. My yarn is not cataloged anywhere. I tried to use ravelry but never really sat down to put everything in. I sort of tried here on the blog but that didn’t work for me either.

And it’s also not in any sort of intuitive physical place either. Some is in a set of IKEA shoe drawers. I keep meaning to take pictures of the yarn and tape them to the outside so I know what’s where. Haven’t done that yet. Some is in the shelves that hold up my bed. Some is in the new shelves that I bought thinking it would straighten up my bedroom somewhat. (Guess what–didn’t work.) And some is in boxes that are labeled things like “brown dress” and “socks”–but which I forget to look at when I’m looking for said brown dress or sock yarn.

I have a plan though.

  1. I am going to get a new job (necessary because I swore to the heavens that I wouldn’t move out of DC to get my current job).*
  2. Then I am going to look for a house. The houses I will be looking at will have four bedrooms (at least), a yard, and a kitchen that either has an island or is big enough to have a table.
  3. Then I am going to buy a house. I am going to fix up one bedroom for myself with rich tan walls, a purple and brown quilt, and purple and brown curtains. I am going to fix one bedroom for a girl child and one bedroom for a boy child. (For the purposes of fostering.) And the fourth bedroom is going to be my craft room.
  4. And when I have a whole room for crafts, I will be organized. I will also wash my dishes every day, plant and maintain a vegetable garden, and help my foster children with their homework while I cook a healthy dinner every day.

You will know that this has all come to pass when you look out yoru window and see the pigs flying by.

* I’m pre-drafting these posts, and as I write this, I have an interview scheduled. Chances are good that I won’t know the outcome by the time this is published, but I suppose there’s a teeny chance that I could have an offer by the time you are reading this.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Memes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 3: Knitting and Crochet Blog Week

  1. Organization isn’t in my nature, either. Hannah says that when she imagines me, oftentimes I am “hunting” through messes on my desk and floor for something. It’s a shame how accurate a depiction that is.

    And oh boy! Let’s hope for the best on that interview!! May the metaphorical pigs of fate rustle their feathers in preparation for takeoff!

  2. Nancy Craig says:

    First, I hope the interview was great and a job offer is in the works! As far as organization–I am pretty proud of me. I have a 4th bedroom that is MY room. For crafts (I scrapbook, knit, read, clay model and just anything I want.) When a mess and company comes, I just walk out and shut the door! My yarn, tho, isn’t very organized. My hubby made me gobs of shelves, but they are taken with everything else. Yarn is stuffed where ever a space is found. But I really don’t have a large stash. I usually find a pattern, then buy the yarn. And your dream house sounds great–except do you like yard work! A thing to consider. Love your “ramblings”.

Leave a Reply

