Day 4: Knitting and Crochet Blog Week

Day Four: 31st March. Where are they now?

Whatever happened to your __________?

Write about the fate of a past knitting project. Whether it be something that you crocheted or knitted for yourself or to give to another person. An item that lives with you or something which you sent off to charity.

There are a lot of different aspects to look at when looking back at a knitting project and it can make for interesting blogging, as much of the time we blog about items recently completed, new and freshly completed. It is not so often that we look back at what has happened to these items after they have been around for a while.

How has one of your past knits lived up to wear. Maybe an item has become lost. Maybe you spent weeks knitting your giant-footed dad a pair of socks in bright pink and green stripes which the then ‘lost’. If you have knit items to donate to a good cause, you could reflect on the was in which you hope that item is still doing good for it’s owner or the cause it was made to support.

Tips: This topic is similar to one we used for the first Knitting and Crochet blog week. This is purposeful and is intended to help the blogger to reflect on past items and refer back to previous posts and projects once in a while.

My very first REAL project (not counting the uh-gly slippers I made as my “learning to knit” project) was rather ambitious–a sweater with a lacy (light lace) tulip embellishment at the bottom, picot edging, really the whole shebang. It was a present for my algebra teacher (no really!)… she taught me how to knit and I just adored her.

That was a long time ago, eighth grade. I don’t know if my teacher ever wore the sweater or if it even fit her!

Sadly, my teacher passed away 4 years ago from breast cancer. So I am putting out here in the world of my computer this message: Miss Fran, thank you for putting up with my know-it-all-ness and general middle school obnoxiousness, and thank you for giving me a hobby that has connected me to lovely people all across the country and close to home, and that clears my head, gives me patience, and lets me play with soft and squishy yarn. (And thanks for the rides home from school in your convertible.)

This entry was posted in Knitting, Memes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

